Polo Ralph Lauren

Grand Slam - see 4 top golf tournaments

The Grand Slam in professional golf means winning all of golf’s major championships: The Masters Tournament, U.S. Open Championship, The Open Championship and U.S. PGA Championship. Nobody managed to win classic Grand Slam. Tiger Woods was very close to achieving that, he won all four major events within two years (2001-2002) which is called the Career Grand Slam. Let’s see what it looks like.

Polo Ralph Lauren
Polo Ralph Lauren

The Masters Tournament

Also known as The Masters or The U.S. Masters is one of the fourth major tournaments of the Grand Slam. It takes place in the first week of April and it inaugurates the key games. It is always held in the same place, Augusta National Golf Club, a private course in Georgia. There are no qualifying tournaments, to take part in The U.S. you have to receive an invitation. The winner of the game receives a green jacket which is a symbol of the club membership. The jacket has to be returned the next year. From this moment, the winner can wear it only the club’s area e.g. during the annual Champions Dinner. The first The U.S. Masters was won by Horton Smith. His award amounted to 1500$, which from today’s perspective seems incredible. The most awarded player in the history of The U.S. Masters was Jack Nickalus.


U.S. Open

Also known as The United States Open Championship, it’s considered to be the most difficult tournament in the world. It’s caused by very difficult conditions in the golf courses that are specifically prepared for the tournament. The surface is uneven, the holes are surrounded by numerous obstacles and the way leading to them is very long and narrow. The player with the lowest total number of strokes is the winner. This is the best paid golf tournament, in 2018 the Total prize pool amounted to 12 mln $. The first U.S. Open was played on October 4, 1895, on course at the Newport Country Club in Newport, Rhode Island. It was a 36-hole competition and was played in a single day. It was won by Horace Rawlins who received 150 $ award. Nowadays, the championship takes place in June and the final is held on the Father’s Day. U.S. Open is dedicated to both amateur and professional golfers with a USGA Handicap Index not exceeding 1.4.


The Open Championship

The Open Championship Also known as The Open or British Open is the oldest tournament of the Grand Slam. It’s considered to be the most prestigious as it’s held in the homeland of golf. The Open is determined by British climate and nature. The championship is held on traditional courses with a very hard and demanding surface. They’re situated by the seaside and exposed to wind that very often influences the score of the match. The winner of the British Open receives honorary title: The Champion Golfer of The Year. Clinching the title during The Open held on a Scottish Old Course at St. Andrews which is the oldest golf course in the world is considered the icing on the cake. The first British Open took place in 1860 and was dedicated only to professionals. It was won by Wille Park Sr. who received 25 pounds reward. A year later, the tournament was opened for amateurs. Now, any player with a handicap Index not exceeding 1.5 can take part in the tournament.

Ralph Lauren

U.S. PGA Champions

Also called The PGA Championship or U.S. PGA. The tournament is organized by the Professional Golfers" Association of America. The first edition took place in 1916 in Siwanoy Country Club in Bronxville. It was won by Jim Barnes, who received 500 $ reward and a golden medal with brilliants. Later, the laureates received a trophy founded by Rodman Wanamaker who became the symbol of U.S. PGA. The tournament is dedicated to professional players who meet very demanding criteria. Fans can admire the highest level rivalry and sophisticated technique. Winning U.S. PGA guarantees numerous privileges including taking part in other three Grand Slam tournaments for the next five years and lifetime possibility to participate in U.S. PGA. The most titled players are Walter Hagen and Jack Nicklaus who won five editions and Tiger Woods, who won the championship four times.